Multnomah County Marriage Licenses
General Marriage License Information
Marriage license applications can be obtained at:
Marriage License Section
Suite 175 Multnomah Building
501 SE Hawthorne Blvd
Portland, Oregon 97214-3577
503-988-3034 (Press 2)
Hours you may obtain a license:
Hours are 8:00 a.m. to 4:45 p.m., Monday through Friday.
Marriage License Requirements:
Due to a significant change in the processing of marriage licenses in Multnomah County, both the bride and groom must come in to our office to purchase a marriage license. If circumstances prevent both parties from appearing in person, contact must be made with a customer service representative by calling 503-988-3326 and then press 0. The fee for an Oregon marriage license is $60 in cash or certified funds only. The license becomes effective three calendar days after issuance and payment. The license remains in effect anywhere in Oregon for 60 days.
No medical exams or blood tests are required. Your marriage can be officiated by a religious leader or a judge. View a list of judges.
The marriage license application requires both the bride and groom to establish the legal name each will take after the marriage ceremony. This information is critical and must be determined prior to the completion of your application.
No personal checks. No refunds.
Applicants who are 17 years old must obtain the written consent of their parent or guardian. Forms available at time of application. If either applicant has no parent or guardian residing within the State of Oregon and has resided within Multnomah County for six months, an Affidavit stating these facts must be obtained from a third party. Obtain application from the Marriage License Section.
Other Important Information
Oregon law requires a three day waiting period before a marriage can take place after a license has been issued. However, this waiting period may be waived by the Deputy County Clerk in Multnomah County. The waiver must be signed at time of application.
Remember, the license is not in effect until three days after it is issued. It remains valid for 60 days after the effective date.
The license can be used anywhere in the State of Oregon. Your marriage can be officiated by:
A religious leader who is authorized by a religious congregation/organization.
A County Clerk.
An Oregon judge. View a list of Multnomah County judges.
An active Federal/Military judge.
Two persons age 18 or older are required to witness the solemnization of the marriage.
Following the marriage ceremony, the completed License and Record of Marriage must be returned to the Multnomah County Marriage License Section within ten (10) days of your marriage. The officiating religious leader, judge, or County Clerk is responsible for returning the License and Record of Marriage. There will be no vital record until the completed License and Record of Marriage has been returned to the Marriage License Unit.
Certified Copies will be available after the marriage has been performed and the license has been returned to our office completed correctly. You can print and use this form or send in a written request. Written requests should include the names of the bride and the groom as they appear on the license, the date of the wedding, the name and address to where the copy is to be returned. Fees must be submitted with the request. The fee is $7.75 for the first certified copy and $4.00 for each additional certified copy (when purchased at the same time).
Make check or money order payable to Multnomah County.
Should you have any questions, please call (503) 988-3034 (Press 2)